• "... He plays with existential urgency"

    Stuttgarter Nachrichten

    Vita

    Daniel Müller-Schott, Cello

    Co-Artistic Director
    Vevey Spring Classic Festival 2022

    OPUS KLASSIK 2020
    category Solo Recording Instrument #CelloUnlimited

    “… the magnetic young German cellist Daniel Müller-Schott administered a dose of adrenaline … “ New York Times

    Daniel Müller-Schott is one of the most sought-after cellists in the world and can be heard on all the great international concert stages. For many years he has been enchanting audiences as an ambassador for classical music in the 21st century and as a bridge builder between music and the visual arts. The New York Times refers to his "intensive expressiveness" and describes him as a "fearless player with technique to burn ".

    Daniel Müller-Schott guests with international leading orchestras; in the US with the orchestras in New York, Boston, Cleveland, Chicago, Philadelphia, San Francisco and Los Angeles; in Europe the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Bayrisches Staatsorchester and Münchner Philharmoniker, the Radio Orchestras from Berlin, Munich, Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Leipzig, Hamburg, Copenhagen and Paris, Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich, Oslo Philharmonic, the London Symphony and Philharmonic Orchestra, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, the Spanish National Orchestra as well as in Australia with the Sydney and Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and in Asia with Tokyo’s NHK Symphony Orchestra, Taiwan’s National Symphony Orchestra (NSO) and Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra.

    Daniel Müller-Schott has appeared worldwide in concert with such renowned conductors as Marc Albrecht, Cristian Măcelaru, Thomas Dausgaard, Christoph Eschenbach, Iván Fischer, Alan Gilbert, Gustavo Gimeno, Manfred Honeck, Neeme Järvi, Karina Canellakis, Susanna Mälkki, Andris Nelsons, Gianandrea Noseda, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Kirill Petrenko, Michael Sanderling and Krzysztof Urbański. A long-standing collaboration connected him with Yakov Kreizberg, Kurt Masur, Lorin Maazel and Sir André Previn.

    Besides the performance of the main cello concertos from the Baroque to the modern era, Daniel Müller-Schott has a special interest in discovering unknown works and extending the cello repertoire, e.g., with his own transcriptions and through cooperation with contemporary composers.

    Sir André Previn and Peter Ruzicka have dedicated cello concertos to him, which were premiered under the direction of the composers with the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig and the Kammerphilharmonie Bremen. Sebastian Currier's "Ghost Trio" was premiered by Daniel Müller-Schott together with Anne-Sophie Mutter and Lambert Orkis at New York's Carnegie Hall. Both the US-born Sebastian Currier as well as Olli Mustonen have composed a cello sonata for Daniel Müller-Schott. For the Beethoven Year 2020, Daniel Müller-Schott premiered Jörg Widmann's "Study about Beethoven" (6th string quartet) in Tokyo with Anne-Sophie Mutter & Friends. The European tour with Widmann's new work, which was cancelled due to the Corona virus, will be made up for in the fall of 2022.

    In the 21/22 season, Daniel Müller-Schott will perform together with Filarmonica della Scala and Andrés Orozco-Estrada at the George Enescu Festival and the Dvořák Festival Prague/ opening concert with live TV broadcast. In the spring of 2022, there will be another collaboration with Andrés Orozco-Estrada, this time with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks. The cellist is invited to the USA for a concert series with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra under Marc Albrecht. Two tours are on Daniel Müller-Schott's concert calendar: to Asia with Bach's Solo Suites / Seoul and with Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations with the NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo / Vasily Petrenko, and next early summer to Australia with the West Australian Symphony Orchestra / Asher Fisch and the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra / Fabien Gabel. Further concerts are planned with the Copenhagen Philharmonic / Toshiyuki Kamioka, with the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra / Olli Mustonen, with the Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester / Sebastian Weigle, with the Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin / Axel Kober as well as with the Budapest Festival Orchestra / Michel Tabachnik. A chamber concert tour leads him together with Emmanuel Tjeknavorian and Anna Vinnitskaya through Europe. As Co-Artistic Director Daniel Müller-Schott can be heard at Vevey Spring Classic Festival 2022 together with his musical friends Janine Jansen, Francesco Piemontesi, Nils Mönkemeyer and Cameristi della Scala under Wilson Hermanto.

     

    International music festivals regularly invite Daniel Müller-Schott including the London Proms, the Schubertiade, Schleswig-Holstein, Rheingau, Schwetzingen, the Heidelberg Spring Festival and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, where the cellist has appeared first time as Artistic Director in 2019; and in the USA, festivals in Tanglewood, Ravinia, Bravo! Vail and the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles.

    In his chamber music concerts, Daniel Müller-Schott collaborates inter alia with Nicholas Angelich, Kit Armstrong, Renaud Capuçon, Xavier de Maistre, Julia Fischer, Daniel Hope, Igor Levit, Sabine Meyer, Nils Mönkemeyer, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Francesco Piemontesi, Lauma and Baiba Skride, Emmanuel Tjeknavorian, Simon Trpčeski with the Ebene Quartet.

    Daniel Müller-Schott has been involved for many years in the project "Rhapsody in School". He regularly gives master classes and helps to support young musicians in Europe, the USA, Asia and Australia.

    Since his childhood, Daniel Müller-Schott has felt a great love for the music of Johann Sebastian Bach. For his first CD record he chose the Six Suites for Cello Solo for Bach’s jubilee year in 2000.

    Daniel Müller-Schott has already built up a sizeable discography in a career spanning twenty-five years under the ORFEO, Deutsche Grammophon, Hyperion, Pentatone and Warner labels and includes among others, works by Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Mozart, Haydn, Schumann, Mendelssohn, Prokofiev, Schubert, Khachaturian, Shostakovich, Strauss, Elgar, Walton, Britten Dvořák and Tchaikovsky.

    His recordings have been enthusiastically received by both the public and the press and have also received numerous awards, including the Gramophone Editor’s Choice, Strad Selection, and the BBC Music Magazine’s “CD of the month”. He has been awarded the Quarterly Prize of German Record Critics for his recordings of the Elgar and Walton Cello Concertos with Oslo Philharmonic and André Previn and for his CD of the Shostakovich Cello Concertos recorded with the Bavarian Radio Orchestra and Yakov Kreizberg. In France the "Solo Suites" by Benjamin Britten were awarded with the Diapason d’or and "Dvořák The Cello Works" with the "Choc de Classica". For "Duo Sessions" Daniel Müller-Schott and Julia Fischer received the International Classical Music Award (ICMA) 2017. For the Beethoven year 2020 Daniel Müller-Schott has issued chamber music as part of an extensive Beethoven-Jubilee-Box - the last musical ideas by Ludwig van Beethoven - on Deutsche Grammophon. This fall, the ORFEO label will release his new CD "Four Visions of France". The cellist has recorded the French cello concertos by Saint-Saëns, Fauré, Honegger and Lalo together with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and Alexandre Bloch.

    Daniel Müller-Schott can be regularly seen and heard on national and international radio broadcasters and on the TV channels ARD, ZDF, ARTE and 3Sat as a soloist in concert recordings and as an interview guest. In summer 2020 the cellist was guest in two episodes at HOPE@HOME - ON TOUR: on the Elmauer Alp, which became an outdoor concert hall and in Schloss Elmau with Thomas Hampson, Julia Okruashvili and Daniel Hope. In live streams broadcast worldwide, Daniel Müller-Schott could be heard during the Corona Pandemic together with Julia Fischer, among others, performing the Brahms Double Concerto in the anniversary concert "75 Years of the NDR Orchestra" under Alan Gilbert, as well as at the UN anniversary with L'Orchestre de la Suisse Romande under Domingo Hindoyan.

    Daniel Müller-Schott studied under Walter Nothas, Heinrich Schiff and Steven Isserlis. He was supported personally by Anne-Sophie Mutter and received, among other things, the Aida Stucki Prize as well as a year of private tuition under Mstislaw Rostropovich. At the age of fifteen, Daniel Müller-Schott won the first prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians in 1992 in Moscow.

    For the historic celebration on the Day of German Unity in 2018 and in Memoriam to his deceased teacher Mstislav Rostropovich Daniel Müller-Schott played in front of about 500,000 listeners at the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin music by Johann Sebastian Bach.

    Beside the music Daniel Müller-Schott has also a considerable affinity for the fine arts, in particular for French paintings of the 19th century. During his travels he always visits the major museums, seeing the great masters in the original. The cellist regularly takes part in art projects himself, for example in the "Street Art project” in Munich, Berlin (ARTE), Melbourne 2016 and as Artistic Director of the Classical Music Spring Festival Rugen 2010. On current occasion, Daniel Müller-Schott participated in "FOR FREE*", an exhibition project curated by the artist Daniel Man at the Binder Gallery in Munich.

    Daniel Müller-Schott plays the “Ex Shapiro” Matteo Goffriller cello, made in Venice in 1727.

    August 2021

• "... Er spielt mit existenzieller Dringlichkeit“

    Stuttgarter Nachrichten

    Vita

    Daniel Müller-Schott, Cello

    Co-Artistic Director
    Vevey Spring Classic Festival 2022

    OPUS KLASSIK 2020

    in der Kategorie „Solistische Einspielung Instrument“ #CelloUnlimited

    “… the magnetic young German cellist Daniel Müller-Schott administered a dose of adrenaline … “ New York Times

    Daniel Müller-Schott zählt zu den weltweit gefragtesten Cellisten und ist auf allen großen internationalen Konzertbühnen zu hören. Seit vielen Jahren begeistert er sein Publikum als Botschafter der klassischen Musik im 21. Jahrhundert und als Brückenbauer zwischen Musik und Bildender Kunst. Die New York Times würdigt seine „intensive Expressivität“ und beschreibt ihn als „einen furchtlosen Spieler mit überragender Technik“.

    Daniel Müller-Schott gastiert bei international bedeutenden Orchestern; u.a. in den USA mit den Orchestern in New York, Boston, Cleveland, Chicago, Philadelphia, San Francisco und Los Angeles; in Europa bei den Berliner Philharmonikern, beim Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, beim Bayerischen Staatsorchester, bei den Münchner Philharmonikern, den Rundfunkorchestern von Berlin, München, Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Leipzig, Hamburg, Kopenhagen und Paris, Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, beim Oslo Philharmonic, beim London Symphony und Philharmonic Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest, Spanish National Orchestra, sowie in Australien mit dem Sydney und Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, in Asien mit Tokios NHK Symphony Orchestra, Taiwans National Symphony Orchestra (NSO) und Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra.

    Am Pult stehen herausragende Dirigenten wie Marc Albrecht, Karina Canellakis, Thomas Dausgaard, Christoph Eschenbach, Iván Fischer, Alan Gilbert, Gustavo Gimeno, Manfred Honeck, Neeme Järvi, Fabio Luisi, Cristian Măcelaru, Susanna Mälkki, Andris Nelsons, Gianandrea Noseda, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Kirill Petrenko, Michael Sanderling, Krzysztof Urbański und Simone Young. Eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit verband ihn mit Yakov Kreizberg, Kurt Masur, Lorin Maazel und Sir André Previn.

    Neben der Aufführung der großen Cellokonzerte vom Barock bis zur Moderne hat Daniel Müller-Schott eine große Leidenschaft für die Entdeckung unbekannter Werke und die Erweiterung des Cello-Repertoires, etwa durch eigene Bearbeitungen sowie die Zusammenarbeit mit den Komponisten unserer Zeit.

    Sir André Previn und Peter Ruzicka haben dem Cellisten Cellokonzerte gewidmet, die unter der Leitung der Komponisten mit dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig und der Kammerphilharmonie Bremen uraufgeführt wurden. Sebastian Curriers „Ghost Trio“ brachte Daniel Müller-Schott mit Anne-Sophie Mutter und Lambert Orkis in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall zur Uraufführung. Sowohl der in den USA geborene Sebastian Currier als auch Olli Mustonen haben für Daniel Müller-Schott eine Cellosonate komponiert. Zum Beethoven-Jahr 2020 hat Daniel Müller-Schott mit Anne-Sophie Mutter & Friends Jörg Widmanns „Studie über Beethoven“ (6. Streichquartett) in Tokio uraufgeführt. Die bedingt durch den Corona Virus ausgefallene Europatournee mit Widmanns neuem Werk wird im Herbst 2022 nachgeholt.

    Zum Saisonstart 21/22 gastiert Daniel Müller-Schott gemeinsam mit Filarmonica della Scala und Andrés Orozco-Estrada beim George Enescu Festival und beim Dvořák Festival Prag/ Eröffnungskonzert mit TV-Liveübertragung. Im Frühjahr 2022 kommt es zu einer erneuten Zusammenarbeit mit Andrés Orozco-Estrada, diesmal beim Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks. In die USA ist der Cellist zu einer Konzertserie beim Dallas Symphony Orchestra unter Marc Albrecht eingeladen. Zwei Tourneen stehen in Daniel Müller-Schotts Konzertkalender: nach Asien mit Bachs Solosuiten / Seoul und mit Tschaikowskis Rokoko Variationen mit dem NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo / Vasily Petrenko sowie im nächsten Frühsommer nach Australien mit dem West Australian Symphony Orchestra / Asher Fisch und dem Melbourne Symphony Orchestra / Fabien Gabel. Weitere Konzerte sind geplant mit dem Copenhagen Philharmonic / Toshiyuki Kamioka, mit dem Turku Philharmonic Orchestra / Olli Mustonen, mit dem Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester / Sebastian Weigle, mit dem Orchester Komische Oper Berlin / Axel Kober sowie mit dem Budapest Festival Orchestra / Michel Tabachnik. Eine Kammerkonzerttour führt ihn zusammen mit Emmanuel Tjeknavorian und Anna Vinnitskaya durch Europa. Als Co-Artistic Director ist Daniel Müller-Schott beim Vevey Spring Classic Festival 2022 zusammen mit seinen musikalischen Freunden Janine Jansen, Francesco Piemontesi, Nils Mönkemeyer und Cameristi della Scala unter Wilson Hermanto zu erleben.

    Internationale Musikfestivals laden Daniel Müller-Schott regelmäßig ein, u.a. die Londoner Proms, die Schubertiade, Schleswig-Holstein, Rheingau, Schwetzingen, der Heidelberger Frühling und die Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, wo der Cellist 2019 die Künstlerische Leitung des Festspielfrühlings auf Rügen übernommen hat; in den USA Festivals in Tanglewood, Ravinia, Bravo!Vail und Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles.

    Bei seinen Kammermusikkonzerten arbeitet Daniel Müller-Schott u.a. zusammen mit Nicholas Angelich, Kit Armstrong, Renaud Capuçon, Xavier de Maistre, Julia Fischer, Daniel Hope, Igor Levit, Sabine Meyer, Nils Mönkemeyer, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Francesco Piemontesi, Lauma und Baiba Skride, Emmanuel Tjeknavorian, Simon Trpčeski und mit dem Ebene Quartett.

    Für das Projekt „Rhapsody in School“ engagiert sich Daniel Müller-Schott seit vielen Jahren. Regelmäßig lehrt er in Meisterkursen und engagiert sich für junge Musiker in Europa, den USA, Asien und Australien.

    Die Beschäftigung und Auseinandersetzung mit dem Oeuvre Johann Sebastian Bachs steht für Daniel Müller-Schott immer wieder im Zentrum seiner Arbeit. Für seine erste CD-Einspielung in Bachs Jubiläumsjahr 2000 wählte er die Sechs Suiten für Cello Solo.

    Daniel Müller-Schott hat in seiner über fünfundzwanzigjährigen Karriere eine umfangreiche Diskographie vorgelegt bei den Labels ORFEO, Deutsche Grammophon, Hyperion, Pentatone und Warner. Sie umfasst u.a. Kompositionen von Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Mozart, Haydn, Schumann, Mendelssohn, Prokofieff, Schubert, Khachaturian, Schostakowitsch, Strauss, Elgar, Walton, Britten, Dvořák und Tschaikowsky.

    Von Publikum und Presse wurden seine Einspielungen enthusiastisch aufgenom¬men und mit diversen Auszeichnungen bedacht, wie dem Diapason d’Or, Gramophone Editor’s Choice, Strad Selection sowie „CD of the month“ beim BBC Music Magazine. Für seine Aufnahmen der Cellokonzerte von Elgar und Walton mit Oslo Philharmonic und Sir André Previn, sowie für seine CD mit Schostakowitsch’ Cello-Konzerten, aufgenommen mit dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks und Yakov Kreizberg, erhielt er den Vierteljahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik. In Frankreich wurden die „Solo Suites“ von Benjamin Britten mit dem Diapason d’or und „Dvořák The Cello Works“ mit dem „Choc de Classica“ ausgezeichnet. Für „Duo Sessions“ erhielt Daniel Müller-Schott und Julia Fischer den International Classical Music Award (ICMA) 2017. Zum Beethoven Jahr 2020 hat Daniel Müller-Schott als Teil einer umfangreichen Beethoven-Jubiläums-Box Kammermusik der letzten musikalischen Gedanken Beethovens bei der Deutschen Grammophon veröffentlicht. Im Herbst diesen Jahres erscheint beim Label ORFEO seine neue CD „Four Visions of France“. Die französischen Cellokonzerte von Saint-Saëns, Fauré, Honegger und Lalo hat der Cellist hier eingespielt gemeinsam mit dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin und Alexandre Bloch.

    Bei nationalen und internationalen Rundfunkanstalten sowie auf TV-Sendern ARD, ZDF, ARTE, „DAS! auf dem Roten Sofa“ und 3Sat ist Daniel Müller-Schott regelmäßig als Solist in Konzertmitschnitten und als Interviewgast eingeladen. Im Sommer 2020 war der Cellist in zwei Episoden bei HOPE@HOME - ON TOUR! zu erleben: auf der Elmauer Alm, die zum Outdoor-Konzertsaal wurde und in Schloss Elmau mit Thomas Hampson, Julia Okruashvili und Daniel Hope. In weltweit ausgestrahlten Live-Streams war Daniel Müller-Schott während der Corona Pandemie u.a. gemeinsam zu erleben mit Julia Fischer mit dem Brahms Doppelkonzert im Jubiläumskonzert „75 Jahre NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester“ unter Alan Gilbert sowie beim Jubiläum der UNO mit dem L‘Orchestre de la Suisse Romande unter Domingo Hindoyan.

    Daniel Müller-Schott, studierte bei Walter Nothas, Heinrich Schiff und Steven Isserlis. Er wurde persönlich von Anne-Sophie Mutter gefördert und erhielt u.a. den Aida Stucki Preis sowie ein Jahr privaten Unterricht bei Mstislaw Rostropowitsch. Bereits im Alter von fünfzehn Jahren gewann Daniel Müller-Schott 1992 den Ersten Preis beim Internationalen Tschaikowsky Wettbewerb für junge Musiker in Moskau.

    Zur historischen Feier am Tag der Deutschen Einheit 2018 und in Memoriam an seinen verstorbenen Lehrer Mstislaw Rostropowitsch spielte Daniel Müller-Schott vor etwa 500.000 Zuhörern am Brandenburger Tor in Berlin Musik von Johann Sebastian Bach.

    Neben der Musik hat Daniel Müller-Schott für die Bildende Kunst, insbesondere für die französische Malerei des 19. Jahrhunderts, eine große Affinität entwickelt. Auf seinen Reisen plant er Museumsbesuche, um die großen Meister im Original zu sehen. Immer wieder nimmt der Cellist selbst an Kunstprojekten teil, wie z.B. beim „Street Art“ Projekt in München, Berlin (ARTE), Melbourne 2016 und als Künstlerischer Leiter des Festspielfrühlings Rügen 2019. Aus aktuellem Anlass wirkte Daniel Müller-Schott bei "FOR FREE*" mit, ein vom Künstler Daniel Man kuratiertes Ausstellungsprojekt in der Münchner Galerie Binder.

    Daniel Müller-Schott spielt das 'Ex Shapiro' Matteo Goffriller Cello, gefertigt in Venedig 1727.

     

    August 2021